Click here to register!


Click here to register. More information below! 




Congratulations 2019 Urology Care Foundation Awardees of Distinction!

These awards will be presented at the Urology Care Foundation Research Honors Program and Reception on May 4, 2019 at the AUA Annual Meeting in Chicago, IL.

View Award Recipients


Message from SBUR President Allen C. Gao, MD, PhD

Thank you for voting in the 2019–2020 SBUR Executive Committee election. The results are in!

Susan Kasper, PhD — Vice President (2019–2020)
Dr. Kasper Bio
Benyi Li, MD, PhD — Treasurer-Elect (2019–2020, then Treasurer 2020–2022)
Dr. Li Bio
Leigh Ellis, PhD — At-Large Director (2019–2021)
Dr. Ellis Bio

Congratulations to our newly elected Executive Committee members and thank you to all our exceptional candidates for their steadfast dedication to SBUR.

I look forward to seeing you at the SBUR Spring Meeting during AUA2019 at the Chicago McCormick Place, and I hope you will join us at our Members Luncheon at 12pm on May 4th as well.


Message from SBUR President Dr. Allen C. Gao

Dear Colleagues,

It is with a heavy heart that we announce the passing of Dr. Denise O’Keefe.  Denise died peacefully in her home on Sunday morning, March 17, 2019.

Denise was a talented and dedicated scientist, professor, mentor, wife, and mother.  Denise received her Bachelor of Science degree with honors in genetics from La Trobe University, Australia. She then completed her Ph.D. training in 1995 at the University of Adelaide, where she studied ABO blood group genetics and hematologic malignancies. For her postdoctoral training, Denise moved to the United States to work in the laboratory of Ben Tycko at the Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons in New York, where she continued to study cancer genetics.  Denise then moved to train with Skip Heston at the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, and later at the Cleveland Clinic, where she and her husband, Dean Bacich, made important contributions to the understanding of the genetics and biology of PSMA (prostate specific membrane antigen).  Her seminal work in the Heston laboratory defined the structural organization of the PSMA gene, its promoter, and PSMA homologs.  Denise and Dean were recruited for their first faculty appointments at the University of Pittsburgh, where they continued to study the role of PSMA and folate metabolism in prostate cancer biology and epigenetics. In 2007, Denise received the SBUR Young Investigator award for her work on PSMA and prostate cancer. In 2014, Denise and Dean moved to the University of Texas Health at San Antonio, in the Department of Urology and the Mays Cancer Center, where they have continued to their important work on prostate cancer genetics, PSMA biology, and folate metabolism.  Denise and her laboratory have received several SBUR awards over the years for their pioneering work and dedication to urologic research.  This year, Denise was promoted to Professor of Urology and awarded the Quincy and Estine Lee Endowment in Cancer Research. 

Our thoughts are with Denise’s family at this time as we collectively mourn the loss of an incredible friend and colleague.