

SBUR Committee Descriptions & Standard Operating Procedures

June 10, 2019

Awards Committee:

The duties of the Awards committee include the search for and selection of SBUR awards and nominations of individuals worthy to be the recipients of special awards and citations from SBUR and other organizations. The committee shall be composed of at least three, and no more than five members appointed by the President, and shall include one member from the Executive Committee. The appointed members shall serve two-year staggered terms to assure continuity.

SOP for the SBUR Awards Committee:

There are four award selections throughout the year for SBUR-related awards:

Meritorious Research Award: This award is the highest award of the Society and recognizes a researcher (basic, translational or clinical) who has made significant contributions to the field of urologic research. Accomplishments of note should include publications, participation on distinguished panels, advisory roles and overall contributions to the field of urology research.

Process:

In June, the Awards Committee shall identify candidates of merit, request CVs from all nominees and evaluate them.

By July 31, the Awards Committee will provide to the Executive Committee a list of 3-4 names with CVs ranked in order of preference by vote of the Committee.

In August, the Executive Committee will review the nominees and consider the ranking order provided by the Awards Committee. They will discuss during August monthly EC meeting and choose the recipient through a vote.

The President will personally call the winner to inform his/her selection. The President will also contact those not selected and inform them of the final decision.

Presented at the Fall Annual Meeting. A Plaque is presented by the President.

Young Investigator Award(s):

These awards (2-3) are given to SBUR members under the age of 40 who have made significant contributions to urologic research.

Process:

Call for applications is sent out to membership in *June for July 31 deadline*. The application returned by the candidates consists of a cover letter (highlighting their contributions) and a CV.

Awards Committee reviews the applications based on the candidates' academic accomplishments. The committee, through ranking and voting selects the awardees. This should be *finalized by end of August*. The President and Executive Council are informed of the selections. The winners are notified by the President and an e-mail is sent from the management team to those not chosen for the award. Presented at the Fall Annual Meeting. Winners receive monetary award and certificate.

Distinguished Service Award:

This award is bestowed annually to recognize an SBUR member who has provided exemplary service to the Society over a period of time. This may include serving as Chair of committee(s), member of the

Executive Committee, officer of the Society, Chair of an Annual Meeting Program, and other dedicated efforts. Further consideration is given to additional service to the field of urologic research as a whole. The recipient does not have to be a strong researcher as the focus here is on service.

Process:

In June, the Awards Committee shall identify candidates of merit and gather supporting documents that itemize his/her service to SBUR and the field of urologic research.

The Committee discusses, and by a voting system, ranks the candidates in order of preference. The selection list with supporting documents is provided to the Executive Committee by July 31.

By mid-August, the Executive Committee will review the recommendations and make a final vote to determine the awardee.

The President will personally call the winner to inform his/her selection.

Presented at the Fall Annual Meeting. A Plaque is presented by the President.

SWIU-SUO Award for Excellence in Research: (female awardee)

The SBUR and the SWIU have a common interest in recognizing female scientists with an accomplished background of basic science urologic research. This award represents the collaborative efforts of these two societies toward their common goals. Appropriate candidates are members of the SBUR who hold and M.D., and Ph.D. or both and have a distinguished track record of urologic research accomplishments. Candidates do not have to be members of the SWIU.

Process:

In December-January, the Awards Committee shall identify female candidates of merit and gather supporting documents that include a CV.

By mid-January, Committee shall select two candidates and forward names to the Executive Committee for approval during January EC phone meeting.

The names of 2 candidates with their CV are forwarded to the SWIU Board who selects a winner based on the provided biographies.

The winner is informed of their award by the SWIU and should make plans to attend the Sunday breakfast meeting of the SWIU at the AUA Annual Spring meeting.

At the SWIU Annual Breakfast meeting, the winner is presented with a plaque and check for \$1000. Each Society contributes \$500 towards this award.

The winner is asked to give a brief summary of their accomplishments (or this is given during their introduction). The winner is also invited to the Women's Leaders in Urology Forum and the Networking Reception.

Two additional nominees are decided by the SBUR:

Richard D. Williams, MD Prostate Cancer Research Excellence Award is given each year by the AUA. The SBUR is asked to provide the name of their nominee (due in December). Nominees are also provided by other specialty Societies and the AUA Board selects the winner. Currently, this is handled by the Executive Committee and the letter of nomination is written by the SBUR President.

In November, the AUA Research office sends a request for nominations to the AUA Research Showcase Forum at the AUA Annual Meeting. The SBUR typically votes between that year's Young Investigator Awardees to fill this nomination. Once chosen, the management team works with the nominee to complete all application requirements to be submitted to the AUA by the December deadline. Currently, this is handled by the Executive Committee and the letter of nomination is written by the SBUR President.